
Related Topics:
|
  |
Phone Privacy |
 |
| |
In addition to the comprehensive privacy features which are offered by ICQ, we've included
special privacy feature for your telephone number.
You can control who can retrieve your information by clicking one of the
options in the privacy section:
- Click the ICQ button.
- Select Add/Change Current User.
- Choose View/Change My Details.
- In the dialog that appears click the Phone-"Follow Me" tab.
- In the Privacy section on the bottom, select the privacy option you want:
|
|

|
|
- Only user on my Contact List may retrieve my Phone details automatically.
- All users may retrieve my phone settings automatically.
- Users must have my approval to retrieve my phone settings.
- Auto decline all requests. I do not use this feature.
|
  |
Status Options |
 |
|
By deciding your Status you can control your availability to other ICQ users: |
|
Away:
|
|
You can choose to be in Away status, globally or towards
specific users. In this mode, other users trying to send you a message will be alerted of
your status. You can also define that whenever your computer's screen saver is on, you
will be seen as in Away mode.
Electing to be in an 'Away' mode enables you to screen incoming events. By this you can
achieve two things:
- The other side can not be sure that you are at your computer, therefore:
- You are not obliged to answer any incoming calls you would rather not respond to.
To activate your Away mode, click on the flower status button on the
bottom right corner of your ICQ screen.
|
|
Privacy (Invisible):
|
|
You can choose to be in a Privacy (Invisible) status.
In this status mode you can see other users' status, but you will be seen off-line.
You receive messages sent to you as if you are using Online status.
To activate the Privacy (Invisible) mode:
- Click on the status.
- Choose Privacy(Invisible)
You can allow other ICQ users to view your connection status through the World Wide Web
by checking the Web Aware check box in the Security dialog.
|
  |
Directory Listings |
 |
|
Depending on your preference, you can select how
many of your details will be listed in the ICQ Global Directory. You
could choose to be completely anonymous, unlisted, having only a bare ICQ
number.
We do suggest however, that if you elect to be unlisted, leave a
hint, something known only to those you wish to contact you, such as
initials, or a nickname. This will enable your friends, when they get a
message bearing only an ICQ number, to still be able to go to info, and
verify that this ICQ number is really yours.
If you wish to change your listing:
- Click on the ICQ menu button
- Highlight Add/Change Current User
- Choose View/Change my details
|
|
Unlist: |
|
Note: If you change your listings, those who have already seen you will still have your previous information.
If you wish to be unlisted to all users including those who have
contacted you in the past, we recommended you re-register to receive
a new ICQ number.
|
|