| |
Please note: The following pertains only to the ICQ 99b version, which is suitable for Windows 95 and Windows NT.
The default version may have different privacy features. You are advised to study the relevant features.
Do not use ICQ for Mission Critical applications, Content Sensitive material, if the risk of exposure to
objectionable material is unacceptable to you or if you don't want to expose your ICQ status or IP address to other people.
You can configure your Security and Privacy settings in several places, so you can
maintain the level of security and privacy you desire.
  |
The Security & Privacy Dialog |
 |
To configure the ICQ Privacy and Security settings do the following:
- Click the ICQ button.
- Select Security & Privacy.
The Security (Ignore/Spam, harassment, control) For: [user] dialog is displayed.
The dialog has five tabs:
The Security Tab
You can determine which users know of your presence on the Internet.
- Click ICQ
- Select Security and Privacy.
- Choose Security. The Security dialog is displayed.
Click the section in the dialog to learn more about that feature.
The following privacy features are available:
Authorization: You can select that your name will not be added to any other
user's contact list unless your authorization is given. Choose between
- All users may add me to their list.
or
- My authorization is required.
Choosing the first allows any user to see if you are on line.
Choosing the second prevents you from being openly accessible and allows only users
you elect to authorize to be able to see your online status, thus preventing unwanted
users from adding you to their contact list.
If during registration you did not select the authorization mode, thus
allowing any one to add you to his/her contact list and contact you, and
you now wish to change it, or if you wish to check your
authorization mode:
- Click on the ICQ menu button
- Choose Security and Privacy
- Check box marked My authorization is required
|
Note: You will still be accessible to those who already have you on their list.
|
Note:
If you did not originally choose the authorization mode and have
unwanted users bothering or annoying you, you can resolve the
problem by deleting your current ICQ#, registering again as a new owner and
enabling the authorization mode. This will require you, however, to re-construct your
contact list. The easiest way to do so is before you delete your ICQ number,
prepare a list of all the ICQ numbers of all the users on your contact list. You
can find the ICQ number of any user by right clicking on his/her name, and
choosing info.
|
A user can send you a message even if you don't authorize him to have you
in his/her contact list, by searching for you in the directory and clicking the send message button
in the search results .
S/he will not, however, know if you are on or offline. This message is sent always as an offline message.
Changing a Password in the Security Tab
You may change the password you entered during registration.
To change a password:
- Click on the ICQ button and select Security & Privacy. The Security
(Ignore/Spam, harassment, control) For [user] dialog is displayed.
- Enter a new password in the New Password field.
- Retype the new password in the Retype New Password field.
Your password has now been altered.
|
Note: Save your password in a safe place.
|
- (Optional) Select Save Password if you wish to log on in the future without
having to type in your password.
- Click Save to save your settings.
Determining a Security Level
The following types of security levels can be determined:
Low: Your password will be saved. All ICQ operations (logging in, changing user
details and password) will occur without your authorization. This option is ideal if
you're working with ICQ from a safe, private location (like your home).
Medium: Your password will be saved and most ICQ operations are carried out
without authorization. However, changing user information and your password will require
the use of your password.
High: This is recommended for users who share one computer, yet value their privacy.
All your personal information including your contact list and logged events will be
protected. ICQ will ask you for your password every time you run ICQ. The contact list
cannot be accessed until a valid password is given. When going into high security mode,
a pop-up dialog will open, warning you of the risks of this mode.
|
Note: Remembering your password is very
important when ICQ is in high security mode. If you forget your password,
access the password page of the ICQ Web site at
http://www.icq.com/password.
|
Security Level
To determine a security size
- Click on the ICQ button and select Security & Privacy.
The Security (Ignore/Spam, harassment, control) For [user]: dialog is displayed.
- Select the security level you want from the Security Level box.
- Click Save to save your settings.
IP address: ICQ enables the revealing of your IP address so that it can be used for certain
Internet games and collaborative programs that may not be in our list of supported
"Internet Telephony, Games, Chat" in the ICQ menu.
If, however, you do not wish for your IP address to be revealed,
you can easily disable it by doing the following:
- Click on the ICQ button on the bottom left of your ICQ window.
- Choose Security & Privacy
- Click on the Security tab
- Check Do not publish IP address.
- Click Save.
|
Please note that the Do not publish IP address feature can only be gradually
implemented into the ICQ system and therefore does not provide a complete assurance
that your IP address is not published to some of the ICQ users. You should therefore
assume that even if you use this feature as to avoid publishing of your IP address, some
ICQ users might still be able to see it. Furthermore, please also note that in each and
every Internet application the IP address of the sender is an integral part of the TCP/IP
standard protocol of the Internet, and can be found by using certain available software
and/or hardware. Also please note that by activating the "My Homepage" feature
you allow third parties to view your IP address.
|
Web Aware: This feature allows you to determine whether or not
other users on the net will view your online presence. If you wish other ICQ users to see your online
presence on the World Wide Web,
- Click on the ICQ button.
- Select Security & Privacy.
The Security dialog is displayed:
- Check the Web Aware check box in the web aware section on the right.
If you've checked the web aware check box in your security dialog but
you're not sure about your status, go to your personal communication center and check your status.
|